Hyster R1.6N vs Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP
Key differences
- Maximum Lift Height. The Hyster R1.6N offers 1,660 mm more maximum lift height than the Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP.
- Rated Lift Capacity. The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 210 kg more rated lift capacity than the Hyster R1.6N. Hyster R1.6N: 1,600 kg (at 600 mm load centre) · Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). These are published ratings at the same load centre. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck.
- Overall Width. The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 60 mm less overall width than the Hyster R1.6N.
- Free Lift. The Hyster R1.6N offers 1,493 mm more free lift than the Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP.
- Gradeability (laden). The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 18.0% more gradeability (laden) than the Hyster R1.6N.
- Drive Motor Power. The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 9.4 kW more drive motor power than the Hyster R1.6N.
On rated lift capacity, Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP leads with the higher figure at 1,810 kg versus 1,600 kg for Hyster R1.6N. The measured gap is 210 kg, or 13.1% relative to the latter published value. Hyster R1.6N: 1,600 kg (at 600 mm load centre) · Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). These are published ratings at the same load centre. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck.
Hyster R1.6N leads with the higher figure on maximum lift height: its published 5,000 mm compares with 3,340 mm for Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP. That is an absolute difference of 1,660 mm (49.7% against the latter figure).
The travel speed (laden) figures separate Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP and Hyster R1.6N. Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP leads with the higher figure with 19.5 km/h; Hyster R1.6N records 11.0 km/h, a gap of 8.5 km/h or 77.3% of that second value.
On lift speed (laden), Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP leads with the higher figure at 520 mm/s versus 320 mm/s for Hyster R1.6N. The measured gap is 200 mm/s, or 62.5% relative to the latter published value.
Hyster R1.6N leads with the lower figure on outside turning radius: its published 1,700 mm compares with 1,740 mm for Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP. That is an absolute difference of 40 mm (2.3% against the latter figure).
The battery capacity figures separate Hyster R1.6N and Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP. Hyster R1.6N leads with the higher figure with 700 Ah; Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP records 680 Ah, a gap of 20 Ah or 2.9% of that second value.
Highlighted values lead on that specification. An arrow indicates whether a higher or lower figure is preferred.
| Specification | Hyster R1.6N | Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity & Load | ||
| Rated Lift Capacity | 1,600 kg (3,527 lb) (at 600 mm load centre) | 1,810 kg (3,990 lb) (at 600 mm load centre) |
| Load Centre | 600 mm (23.6 in) | 600 mm (23.6 in) |
| Maximum Lift Height | 5,000 mm (16.4 ft) | 3,340 mm (11.0 ft) |
| Free Lift | 1,648 mm (64.9 in) | 155 mm (6.1 in) |
| Mast & Forks | ||
| Mast Type | 3-stage full free lift | Wide-view 2-stage (V) |
| Mast Height Lowered | 2,195 mm (7.2 ft) | 2,115 mm (6.9 ft) |
| Mast Height Extended | 5,563 mm (18.3 ft) | 4,560 mm (15.0 ft) |
| Mast Tilt Forward | 2deg | 6deg |
| Mast Tilt Backward | 4deg | 8deg |
| Fork Length | 1,150 mm (45.3 in) | 1,070 mm (42.1 in) |
| Fork Width | 120 mm (4.7 in) | 125 mm (4.9 in) |
| Fork Thickness | 40 mm (1.6 in) | 40 mm (1.6 in) |
| Fork Carriage Class | II A | Not specified |
| Engine & Powertrain | ||
| Fuel Type | Electric | Electric |
| Power Source | Electric (battery) | Battery Electric |
| Engine / Motor Power | Not specified | 14.8 kW (19.8 hp) |
| Drive Motor Power | 5.4 kW (7.2 hp) | 14.8 kW (19.8 hp) |
| Lift Motor Power | 9.9 kW (13.3 hp) | 21.5 kW (28.8 hp) |
| Transmission | Not specified | AC drive, transistor inverter |
| Battery & Fuel | ||
| Battery Voltage | 48 V | 48 V |
| Battery Capacity | 700 Ah | 680 Ah |
| Battery Type | Lead-acid | Lead-acid |
| Minimum Battery Weight | 1,119 kg (2,467 lb) | Not specified |
| Dimensions | ||
| Overall Length (with forks) | 2,629 mm (8.6 ft) | Not specified |
| Length to Fork Face | 1,479 mm (58.2 in) | 2,030 mm (6.7 ft) |
| Overall Width | 1,125 mm (44.3 in) | 1,065 mm (41.9 in) |
| Height to Overhead Guard | 2,175 mm (7.1 ft) | 2,235 mm (7.3 ft) |
| Wheelbase | 1,450 mm (57.1 in) | 1,295 mm (51.0 in) |
| Ground Clearance | 85 mm (3.3 in) | 100 mm (3.9 in) |
| Outside Turning Radius | 1,700 mm (66.9 in) | 1,740 mm (68.5 in) |
| Right-Angle Stacking Aisle (incl. load) | 2,899 mm (9.5 ft) | Not specified |
| Right-Angle Stacking Aisle (excl. load) | Not specified | 2,165 mm (7.1 ft) |
| Working Aisle (VDI 4.34), 1000x1200 Crossways | 2,899 mm (9.5 ft) | Not specified |
| Working Aisle (VDI 4.34), 800x1200 Lengthwise | 2,976 mm (9.8 ft) | Not specified |
| Load Distance (x) | 202 mm (8.0 in) | 425 mm (16.7 in) |
| Weights | ||
| Operating Weight | 3,498 kg (7,712 lb) | Not specified |
| Front Axle Load (laden) | 1,514 kg (3,338 lb) | Not specified |
| Rear Axle Load (laden) | 3,584 kg (7,901 lb) | Not specified |
| Performance | ||
| Travel Speed (laden) | 11.0 km/h (6.8 mph) | 19.5 km/h (12.1 mph) |
| Travel Speed (unladen) | 11.0 km/h (6.8 mph) | 19.0 km/h (11.8 mph) |
| Lift Speed (laden) | 320 mm/s (63.0 ft/min) | 520 mm/s (102.4 ft/min) |
| Lift Speed (unladen) | 630 mm/s (124.0 ft/min) | 660 mm/s (129.9 ft/min) |
| Lowering Speed (laden) | 550 mm/s (108.3 ft/min) | 500 mm/s (98.4 ft/min) |
| Gradeability (laden) | 7.0% | 25.0% |
| Tyres, Brakes & Chassis | ||
| Tyre Type | Vulkollan | Cushion |
| Front Tyre Size | 343 x 140 | 21 x 7 x 15 |
| Rear Tyre Size | 285 x 100 | 16 x 5 x 10.5 |
| Wheels (front / rear) | 1x / 2 | 2x / 2 |
| Service Brake | Electric | Hydraulic |
| Operator Position | Seated | Seated |
| General | ||
| Noise Level at Operator Ear | 70 dB(A) | Not specified |
| Warranty | 24 months / 4,000 hours (manufacturer standard) | Not specified |
What the numbers say
This is a cross-brand comparison: Hyster R1.6N (R Series (D435)), Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP (Core Electric 8FBC).
Hyster R1.6N: 1,600 kg (at 600 mm load centre); Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). These are published ratings at the same load centre. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck.
The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP has the highest published rating at 1,810 kg, 13% more than the Hyster R1.6N at 1,600 kg.
For racking, the Hyster R1.6N reaches 5,000 mm while the Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP tops out at 3,340 mm, a difference of 1,660 mm.
Frequently asked questions
How do the published lift capacity ratings of the Hyster R1.6N and Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP compare?
Hyster R1.6N: 1,600 kg (at 600 mm load centre). Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). These are published ratings at the same load centre. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck.
How do the lift heights of the Hyster R1.6N and Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP compare?
Hyster R1.6N: 5,000 mm. Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 3,340 mm.
How do the turning radii of the Hyster R1.6N and Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP compare?
Hyster R1.6N: 1,700 mm. Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 1,740 mm.
What is the main difference between the Hyster R1.6N and Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP?
The Hyster R1.6N offers 1,660 mm more maximum lift height than the Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP. The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 210 kg more rated lift capacity than the Hyster R1.6N. Hyster R1.6N: 1,600 kg (at 600 mm load centre) · Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). These are published ratings at the same load centre. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck. The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 60 mm less overall width than the Hyster R1.6N.