Hyster J2.2A vs Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP
Key differences
- Engine / Motor Power. The Hyster J2.2A offers 3.2 kW more engine / motor power than the Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP.
- Outside Turning Radius. The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 218 mm less outside turning radius than the Hyster J2.2A.
- Overall Width. The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 120 mm less overall width than the Hyster J2.2A.
- Gradeability (laden). The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 12.0% more gradeability (laden) than the Hyster J2.2A.
- Drive Motor Power. The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 5.8 kW more drive motor power than the Hyster J2.2A.
- Free Lift. The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 55 mm more free lift than the Hyster J2.2A.
Hyster J2.2A: 2,000 kg (at 500 mm load centre) ยท Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). Load centres differ or are not specified; these capacity ratings are not directly comparable and do not establish a capacity winner. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck.
Hyster J2.2A leads with the higher figure on maximum lift height: its published 3,371 mm compares with 3,340 mm for Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP. That is an absolute difference of 31 mm (0.9% against the latter figure).
The travel speed (laden) figures separate Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP and Hyster J2.2A. Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP leads with the higher figure with 19.5 km/h; Hyster J2.2A records 18.0 km/h, a gap of 1.5 km/h or 8.3% of that second value.
On lift speed (laden), Hyster J2.2A leads with the higher figure at 570 mm/s versus 520 mm/s for Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP. The measured gap is 50 mm/s, or 9.6% relative to the latter published value.
Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP leads with the lower figure on outside turning radius: its published 1,740 mm compares with 1,958 mm for Hyster J2.2A. That is an absolute difference of 218 mm (11.1% against the latter figure).
The battery capacity figures separate Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP and Hyster J2.2A. Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP leads with the higher figure with 680 Ah; Hyster J2.2A records 560 Ah, a gap of 120 Ah or 21.4% of that second value.
Highlighted values lead on that specification. An arrow indicates whether a higher or lower figure is preferred.
| Specification | Hyster J2.2A | Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity & Load | ||
| Rated Lift Capacity | 2,000 kg (4,409 lb) (at 500 mm load centre) | 1,810 kg (3,990 lb) (at 600 mm load centre) |
| Load Centre | 500 mm (19.7 in) | 600 mm (23.6 in) |
| Maximum Lift Height | 3,371 mm (11.1 ft) | 3,340 mm (11.0 ft) |
| Free Lift | 100 mm (3.9 in) | 155 mm (6.1 in) |
| Mast & Forks | ||
| Mast Type | 2-stage limited free lift | Wide-view 2-stage (V) |
| Mast Height Lowered | 2,140 mm (7.0 ft) | 2,115 mm (6.9 ft) |
| Mast Height Extended | 4,480 mm (14.7 ft) | 4,560 mm (15.0 ft) |
| Mast Tilt Forward | 5deg | 6deg |
| Mast Tilt Backward | 5deg | 8deg |
| Fork Length | 1,000 mm (39.4 in) | 1,070 mm (42.1 in) |
| Fork Width | 100 mm (3.9 in) | 125 mm (4.9 in) |
| Fork Thickness | 40 mm (1.6 in) | 40 mm (1.6 in) |
| Fork Carriage Class | II A | Not specified |
| Engine & Powertrain | ||
| Fuel Type | Electric | Electric |
| Power Source | Battery Electric | Battery Electric |
| Engine / Motor Power | 18.0 kW (24.1 hp) | 14.8 kW (19.8 hp) |
| Drive Motor Power | 9.0 kW (12.1 hp) | 14.8 kW (19.8 hp) |
| Lift Motor Power | 20.7 kW (27.8 hp) | 21.5 kW (28.8 hp) |
| Transmission | Induction drive control | AC drive, transistor inverter |
| Battery & Fuel | ||
| Battery Voltage | 80 V | 48 V |
| Battery Capacity | 560 Ah | 680 Ah |
| Battery Type | Lead-acid | Lead-acid |
| Minimum Battery Weight | 1,480 kg (3,263 lb) | Not specified |
| Dimensions | ||
| Overall Length (with forks) | 3,371 mm (11.1 ft) | Not specified |
| Length to Fork Face | 2,371 mm (7.8 ft) | 2,030 mm (6.7 ft) |
| Overall Width | 1,185 mm (46.7 in) | 1,065 mm (41.9 in) |
| Height to Overhead Guard | 2,193 mm (7.2 ft) | 2,235 mm (7.3 ft) |
| Wheelbase | 1,636 mm (64.4 in) | 1,295 mm (51.0 in) |
| Ground Clearance | 137 mm (5.4 in) | 100 mm (3.9 in) |
| Outside Turning Radius | 1,958 mm (77.1 in) | 1,740 mm (68.5 in) |
| Right-Angle Stacking Aisle (incl. load) | 3,654 mm (12.0 ft) | Not specified |
| Right-Angle Stacking Aisle (excl. load) | Not specified | 2,165 mm (7.1 ft) |
| Working Aisle (VDI 4.34), 1000x1200 Crossways | 3,654 mm (12.0 ft) | Not specified |
| Working Aisle (VDI 4.34), 800x1200 Lengthwise | 3,799 mm (12.5 ft) | Not specified |
| Load Distance (x) | 424 mm (16.7 in) | 425 mm (16.7 in) |
| Internal Turning Radius (b13) | 123 mm (4.8 in) | Not specified |
| Weights | ||
| Operating Weight | 4,531 kg (9,989 lb) | Not specified |
| Front Axle Load (laden) | 5,558 kg (12,253 lb) | Not specified |
| Rear Axle Load (laden) | 973 kg (2,145 lb) | Not specified |
| Performance | ||
| Travel Speed (laden) | 18.0 km/h (11.2 mph) | 19.5 km/h (12.1 mph) |
| Travel Speed (unladen) | 18.0 km/h (11.2 mph) | 19.0 km/h (11.8 mph) |
| Lift Speed (laden) | 570 mm/s (112.2 ft/min) | 520 mm/s (102.4 ft/min) |
| Lift Speed (unladen) | 630 mm/s (124.0 ft/min) | 660 mm/s (129.9 ft/min) |
| Lowering Speed (laden) | 680 mm/s (133.9 ft/min) | 500 mm/s (98.4 ft/min) |
| Gradeability (laden) | 13.0% | 25.0% |
| Drawbar Pull (laden) | 7,720 N (1,736 lbf) | Not specified |
| Tyres, Brakes & Chassis | ||
| Tyre Type | Solid Pneumatic | Cushion |
| Front Tyre Size | 23 x 9-10 | 21 x 7 x 15 |
| Rear Tyre Size | 18 x 7-8 | 16 x 5 x 10.5 |
| Wheels (front / rear) | 2x / 2 | 2x / 2 |
| Service Brake | Hydraulic | Hydraulic |
| Operator Position | Seated | Seated |
| General | ||
| Noise Level at Operator Ear | 67 dB(A) | Not specified |
| Warranty | 24 months / 4,000 hours (manufacturer standard) | Not specified |
What the numbers say
This is a cross-brand comparison: Hyster J2.2A (J-A Series), Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP (Core Electric 8FBC).
Hyster J2.2A: 2,000 kg (at 500 mm load centre); Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). Load centres differ or are not specified; these capacity ratings are not directly comparable and do not establish a capacity winner. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck.
For racking, the Hyster J2.2A reaches 3,371 mm while the Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP tops out at 3,340 mm, a difference of 31 mm.
Frequently asked questions
How do the published lift capacity ratings of the Hyster J2.2A and Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP compare?
Hyster J2.2A: 2,000 kg (at 500 mm load centre). Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). Load centres differ or are not specified; these capacity ratings are not directly comparable and do not establish a capacity winner. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck.
How do the lift heights of the Hyster J2.2A and Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP compare?
Hyster J2.2A: 3,371 mm. Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 3,340 mm.
How do the turning radii of the Hyster J2.2A and Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP compare?
Hyster J2.2A: 1,958 mm. Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP: 1,740 mm.
What is the main difference between the Hyster J2.2A and Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP?
The Hyster J2.2A offers 3.2 kW more engine / motor power than the Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP. The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 218 mm less outside turning radius than the Hyster J2.2A. The Toyota 8FBC20U-COMP offers 120 mm less overall width than the Hyster J2.2A.