Hyster R1.4 vs Toyota 8FBC20U

Key differences

  • Maximum Lift Height. The Hyster R1.4 offers 1,660 mm more maximum lift height than the Toyota 8FBC20U.
  • Rated Lift Capacity. The Toyota 8FBC20U offers 410 kg more rated lift capacity than the Hyster R1.4. Hyster R1.4: 1,400 kg (at 600 mm load centre) · Toyota 8FBC20U: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). These are published ratings at the same load centre. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck.
  • Overall Width. The Toyota 8FBC20U offers 200 mm less overall width than the Hyster R1.4.
  • Outside Turning Radius. The Hyster R1.4 offers 119 mm less outside turning radius than the Toyota 8FBC20U.
  • Free Lift. The Hyster R1.4 offers 1,493 mm more free lift than the Toyota 8FBC20U.
  • Gradeability (laden). The Toyota 8FBC20U offers 18.0% more gradeability (laden) than the Hyster R1.4.

On rated lift capacity, Toyota 8FBC20U leads with the higher figure at 1,810 kg versus 1,400 kg for Hyster R1.4. The measured gap is 410 kg, or 29.3% relative to the latter published value. Hyster R1.4: 1,400 kg (at 600 mm load centre) · Toyota 8FBC20U: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). These are published ratings at the same load centre. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck.

Hyster R1.4 leads with the higher figure on maximum lift height: its published 5,000 mm compares with 3,340 mm for Toyota 8FBC20U. That is an absolute difference of 1,660 mm (49.7% against the latter figure).

The travel speed (laden) figures separate Toyota 8FBC20U and Hyster R1.4. Toyota 8FBC20U leads with the higher figure with 19.5 km/h; Hyster R1.4 records 11.0 km/h, a gap of 8.5 km/h or 77.3% of that second value.

On lift speed (laden), Toyota 8FBC20U leads with the higher figure at 520 mm/s versus 370 mm/s for Hyster R1.4. The measured gap is 150 mm/s, or 40.5% relative to the latter published value.

Hyster R1.4 leads with the lower figure on outside turning radius: its published 1,671 mm compares with 1,790 mm for Toyota 8FBC20U. That is an absolute difference of 119 mm (6.6% against the latter figure).

The battery capacity figures separate Toyota 8FBC20U and Hyster R1.4. Toyota 8FBC20U leads with the higher figure with 765 Ah; Hyster R1.4 records 700 Ah, a gap of 65 Ah or 9.3% of that second value.

Highlighted values lead on that specification. An arrow indicates whether a higher or lower figure is preferred.

Specification Hyster R1.4 Toyota 8FBC20U
Capacity & Load
Rated Lift Capacity 1,400 kg (3,086 lb) (at 600 mm load centre) 1,810 kg (3,990 lb) (at 600 mm load centre)
Load Centre 600 mm (23.6 in) 600 mm (23.6 in)
Maximum Lift Height 5,000 mm (16.4 ft) 3,340 mm (11.0 ft)
Free Lift 1,648 mm (64.9 in) 155 mm (6.1 in)
Mast & Forks
Mast Type 3-stage full free lift Wide-view 2-stage (V)
Mast Height Lowered 2,195 mm (7.2 ft) 2,115 mm (6.9 ft)
Mast Height Extended 5,563 mm (18.3 ft) 4,560 mm (15.0 ft)
Mast Tilt Forward 2deg 6deg
Mast Tilt Backward 4deg 8deg
Fork Length 1,150 mm (45.3 in) 1,070 mm (42.1 in)
Fork Width 80 mm (3.1 in) 125 mm (4.9 in)
Fork Thickness 40 mm (1.6 in) 40 mm (1.6 in)
Fork Carriage Class II A Not specified
Engine & Powertrain
Fuel Type Electric Electric
Power Source Electric (battery) Battery Electric
Engine / Motor Power Not specified 14.8 kW (19.8 hp)
Drive Motor Power 5.4 kW (7.2 hp) 14.8 kW (19.8 hp)
Lift Motor Power 9.9 kW (13.3 hp) 21.5 kW (28.8 hp)
Transmission Not specified AC drive, transistor inverter
Battery & Fuel
Battery Voltage 48 V 48 V
Battery Capacity 700 Ah 765 Ah
Battery Type Lead-acid Lead-acid
Minimum Battery Weight 1,119 kg (2,467 lb) Not specified
Dimensions
Overall Length (with forks) 2,523 mm (8.3 ft) Not specified
Length to Fork Face 1,373 mm (54.1 in) 2,075 mm (6.8 ft)
Overall Width 1,265 mm (49.8 in) 1,065 mm (41.9 in)
Height to Overhead Guard 2,175 mm (7.1 ft) 2,235 mm (7.3 ft)
Wheelbase 1,400 mm (55.1 in) 1,295 mm (51.0 in)
Ground Clearance 85 mm (3.3 in) 100 mm (3.9 in)
Outside Turning Radius 1,671 mm (65.8 in) 1,790 mm (70.5 in)
Right-Angle Stacking Aisle (incl. load) 2,826 mm (9.3 ft) Not specified
Right-Angle Stacking Aisle (excl. load) Not specified 2,215 mm (7.3 ft)
Working Aisle (VDI 4.34), 1000x1200 Crossways 2,826 mm (9.3 ft) Not specified
Working Aisle (VDI 4.34), 800x1200 Lengthwise 2,895 mm (9.5 ft) Not specified
Load Distance (x) 258 mm (10.2 in) 425 mm (16.7 in)
Weights
Operating Weight 3,495 kg (7,705 lb) Not specified
Front Axle Load (laden) 1,711 kg (3,772 lb) Not specified
Rear Axle Load (laden) 3,184 kg (7,020 lb) Not specified
Performance
Travel Speed (laden) 11.0 km/h (6.8 mph) 19.5 km/h (12.1 mph)
Travel Speed (unladen) 11.0 km/h (6.8 mph) 19.0 km/h (11.8 mph)
Lift Speed (laden) 370 mm/s (72.8 ft/min) 520 mm/s (102.4 ft/min)
Lift Speed (unladen) 630 mm/s (124.0 ft/min) 660 mm/s (129.9 ft/min)
Lowering Speed (laden) 550 mm/s (108.3 ft/min) 500 mm/s (98.4 ft/min)
Gradeability (laden) 7.0% 25.0%
Tyres, Brakes & Chassis
Tyre Type Vulkollan Cushion
Front Tyre Size 343 x 140 21 x 7 x 15
Rear Tyre Size 285 x 100 16 x 5 x 10.5
Wheels (front / rear) 1x / 2 2x / 2
Service Brake Electric Hydraulic
Operator Position Seated Seated
General
Noise Level at Operator Ear 70 dB(A) Not specified
Warranty 24 months / 4,000 hours (manufacturer standard) Not specified

What the numbers say

This is a cross-brand comparison: Hyster R1.4 (R Series (D435)), Toyota 8FBC20U (Core Electric 8FBC).

Hyster R1.4: 1,400 kg (at 600 mm load centre); Toyota 8FBC20U: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). These are published ratings at the same load centre. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck.

The Toyota 8FBC20U has the highest published rating at 1,810 kg, 29% more than the Hyster R1.4 at 1,400 kg.

For racking, the Hyster R1.4 reaches 5,000 mm while the Toyota 8FBC20U tops out at 3,340 mm, a difference of 1,660 mm.

Running cost

Frequently asked questions

How do the published lift capacity ratings of the Hyster R1.4 and Toyota 8FBC20U compare?

Hyster R1.4: 1,400 kg (at 600 mm load centre). Toyota 8FBC20U: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). These are published ratings at the same load centre. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck.

How do the lift heights of the Hyster R1.4 and Toyota 8FBC20U compare?

Hyster R1.4: 5,000 mm. Toyota 8FBC20U: 3,340 mm.

How do the turning radii of the Hyster R1.4 and Toyota 8FBC20U compare?

Hyster R1.4: 1,671 mm. Toyota 8FBC20U: 1,790 mm.

What is the main difference between the Hyster R1.4 and Toyota 8FBC20U?

The Hyster R1.4 offers 1,660 mm more maximum lift height than the Toyota 8FBC20U. The Toyota 8FBC20U offers 410 kg more rated lift capacity than the Hyster R1.4. Hyster R1.4: 1,400 kg (at 600 mm load centre) · Toyota 8FBC20U: 1,810 kg (at 600 mm load centre). These are published ratings at the same load centre. Check the manufacturer's load chart for the exact mast, lift height and attachment configuration before selecting a truck. The Toyota 8FBC20U offers 200 mm less overall width than the Hyster R1.4.

People also compare

Other machines in this class

Toyota

8FBC15U

  • Capacity1,500 kg
  • Lift height3,335 mm
  • FuelElectric

79%

Toyota

8FBC18U

  • Capacity1,750 kg
  • Lift height3,335 mm
  • FuelElectric

79%

Toyota

8FBC20U-COMP

  • Capacity1,810 kg
  • Lift height3,340 mm
  • FuelElectric

72%

Toyota

40-8FGU15

  • Capacity1,350 kg
  • Lift height3,335 mm
  • FuelDual Fuel LPG/Petrol

77%

Toyota

50-8FGU15

  • Capacity1,350 kg
  • Lift height3,335 mm
  • FuelLPG

77%

Hyster

J2.2A

  • Capacity2,000 kg
  • Lift height3,371 mm
  • FuelElectric

86%

Compare something else

Start a new comparison