Hyster J2.5A vs Toyota 8FBC25U-COMP

Comparing 2 electric forklifts on published specifications. 26 specifications are published for every model here.

Key differences

  • Engine / Motor Power. Hyster J2.5A offers 3.2 kW more engine / motor power than the next model in this comparison.
  • Overall Width. Toyota 8FBC25U-COMP offers 120 mm less overall width than the next model in this comparison.
  • Rated Lift Capacity. Hyster J2.5A offers 230 kg more rated lift capacity than the next model in this comparison.
  • Drive Motor Power. Toyota 8FBC25U-COMP offers 5.8 kW more drive motor power than the next model in this comparison.
  • Gradeability (laden). Toyota 8FBC25U-COMP offers 8.0% more gradeability (laden) than the next model in this comparison.
  • Free Lift. Toyota 8FBC25U-COMP offers 55 mm more free lift than the next model in this comparison.
Specification Hyster J2.5A Toyota 8FBC25U-COMP
Capacity & Load
Rated Lift Capacity 2,500 kg (5,512 lb) (leads on this specification) 2,270 kg (5,004 lb)
Load Centre 500 mm (19.7 in) 600 mm (23.6 in)
Maximum Lift Height 3,371 mm (11.1 ft) 3,340 mm (11.0 ft)
Free Lift 100 mm (3.9 in) 155 mm (6.1 in) (leads on this specification)
Mast & Forks
Mast Type 2-stage limited free lift Wide-view 2-stage (V)
Mast Height Lowered 2,140 mm (7.0 ft) 2,115 mm (6.9 ft)
Mast Height Extended 4,480 mm (14.7 ft) 4,560 mm (15.0 ft)
Mast Tilt Forward 5deg 6deg
Mast Tilt Backward 5deg 8deg
Fork Length 1,000 mm (39.4 in) 1,070 mm (42.1 in)
Fork Width 100 mm (3.9 in) 125 mm (4.9 in)
Fork Thickness 40 mm (1.6 in) 40 mm (1.6 in)
Fork Carriage Class II A Not specified
Engine & Powertrain
Fuel Type Electric Electric
Power Source Battery Electric Battery Electric
Engine / Motor Power 18.0 kW (24.1 hp) (leads on this specification) 14.8 kW (19.8 hp)
Drive Motor Power 9.0 kW (12.1 hp) 14.8 kW (19.8 hp) (leads on this specification)
Lift Motor Power 20.7 kW (27.8 hp) 21.5 kW (28.8 hp)
Transmission Induction drive control AC drive, transistor inverter
Battery & Fuel
Battery Voltage 80 V 48 V
Battery Capacity 560 Ah 680 Ah (leads on this specification)
Battery Type Lead-acid Lead-acid
Minimum Battery Weight 1,480 kg (3,263 lb) Not specified
Dimensions
Length to Fork Face Not specified 2,100 mm (6.9 ft)
Overall Width 1,185 mm (46.7 in) 1,065 mm (41.9 in) (leads on this specification)
Height to Overhead Guard 2,193 mm (7.2 ft) 2,235 mm (7.3 ft)
Wheelbase 1,636 mm (64.4 in) 1,295 mm (51.0 in)
Ground Clearance 137 mm (5.4 in) (leads on this specification) 100 mm (3.9 in)
Outside Turning Radius Not specified 1,750 mm (68.9 in)
Right-Angle Stacking Aisle (excl. load) Not specified 2,170 mm (7.1 ft)
Weights
Operating Weight 4,642 kg (10,234 lb) Not specified
Front Axle Load (laden) 6,252 kg (13,783 lb) Not specified
Rear Axle Load (laden) 889 kg (1,960 lb) Not specified
Performance
Travel Speed (laden) 18.0 km/h (11.2 mph) 19.5 km/h (12.1 mph) (leads on this specification)
Travel Speed (unladen) 18.0 km/h (11.2 mph) 19.0 km/h (11.8 mph) (leads on this specification)
Lift Speed (laden) 530 mm/s (104.3 ft/min) 520 mm/s (102.4 ft/min)
Lift Speed (unladen) 630 mm/s (124.0 ft/min) 660 mm/s (129.9 ft/min)
Lowering Speed (laden) 690 mm/s (135.8 ft/min) 500 mm/s (98.4 ft/min)
Gradeability (laden) 13.0% 21.0% (leads on this specification)
Drawbar Pull (laden) 5,590 N (1,257 lbf) Not specified
Tyres, Brakes & Chassis
Tyre Type Solid Pneumatic Cushion
Front Tyre Size 23 x 9-10 21 x 7 x 15
Rear Tyre Size 18 x 7-8 16 x 5 x 10.5
Wheels (front / rear) 2x / 2 2x / 2
Service Brake Hydraulic Hydraulic
Operator Position Seated Seated
General
Noise Level at Operator Ear 67 dB(A) Not specified
Warranty 24 months / 4,000 hours (manufacturer standard) Not specified

How to read this comparison

  • A highlighted value means that model leads on that specification, and only where a higher or lower figure is objectively better. Capacity and lift height are marked; wheelbase and tyre size are not, because neither direction is universally better.
  • A value is only marked when every model in the comparison published that figure. We never mark a leader against missing data.
  • We do not name an overall winner. Which machine is right depends on your aisles, your shift pattern and your energy prices, which no specification table knows.
  • Capacity figures are only comparable at the same load centre. Check the load centre row before comparing capacities directly.

Which one is cheaper to run?

The specification table cannot answer that on its own. Put your own hours and energy prices into these.

Frequently asked questions

Which has the higher lift capacity, the Hyster J2.5A and Toyota 8FBC25U-COMP?

Hyster J2.5A: 2,500 kg. Toyota 8FBC25U-COMP: 2,270 kg.

What is the main difference between the Hyster J2.5A and Toyota 8FBC25U-COMP?

Hyster J2.5A offers 3.2 kW more engine / motor power than the next model in this comparison. Toyota 8FBC25U-COMP offers 120 mm less overall width than the next model in this comparison. Hyster J2.5A offers 230 kg more rated lift capacity than the next model in this comparison.

People also compare

Other machines in this class

Linde

X25

  • Capacity2,500 kg
  • Lift height3,095 mm
  • FuelElectric

84%

Toyota

8FBC28U

  • Capacity2,490 kg
  • Lift height3,345 mm
  • FuelElectric

72%

Toyota

8FBC30U

  • Capacity2,720 kg
  • Lift height3,345 mm
  • FuelElectric

72%

Toyota

8FBC25U

  • Capacity2,270 kg
  • Lift height3,340 mm
  • FuelElectric

72%

Toyota

8FBCH25U

  • Capacity2,270 kg
  • Lift height3,340 mm
  • FuelElectric

72%

Hyster

J2.2A

  • Capacity2,000 kg
  • Lift height3,371 mm
  • FuelElectric

86%

Compare something else

Build your own comparison with up to four models.

Start a new comparison